Award Winners

The Association for Comparative Economic Studies awards prizes every year for the best papers in each of its two journalsTop papers are those ranked the highest by members of the ACES Executive Committee and leadership each year, and in the case of a tie in ranking more than one paper may be awarded.

The Bergson Prize is named after Abram Bergson, a pioneer of comparative economics, and is awarded bi-annually to the paper judged by ACES to be the best published in Comparative Economic Studies in the preceding two years.   

The Montias Prize is named after J. Michael Montias and is given to the best paper published in the Journal of Comparative Economics over the past two years.  The Montias Prize was established in 2004.