ACES Dissertation research Fellowship

The ACES Dissertation Research Fellowship, launched for the 2020-2021 academic year to encourage research on comparative economics supports an emerging scholar in the field with a generous stipend and travel fund as they complete their dissertation. The selection committee currently consists of Elizabeth Brainerd (Brandeis University), Georgy Egorov (Northwestern University), Scott Rozelle (Stanford University), and Noam Yuchtman (London School of Economics).  The call for applications is typically circulated in February, with a submission deadline of April 15.  

The Fellowship was launched in 2020 as the Gerard Roland Fellowship to honor and recognize the fundamental contributions of Gerard Roland to the field.  Fellows receive a stipend, additional research funding, and a tuition scholarship.  ACES also typically awards research prizes to runners-up.  A list of fellows and research award winners is below.

If you would like to help support the Fellowship---and other opportunities for young scholars in comparative economics---consider an annual membership today.

current aces dissertation fellows

Vitaliia Yaremko

2022-2023 Fellow

Vitaliia Yaremko is a Ph.D. candidate in the Economics Department at the University of California, Berkeley. Before starting her doctoral studies, she received her bachelor’s degree in finance at the National University of Ostroh Academy (Ostroh, Ukraine) and master’s degree in economic analysis at the Kyiv School of Economics (Kyiv, Ukraine). She works on topics of comparative economics, labor and macroeconomics, and economic history with a particular interest in how institutions, policies, past events, and macroeconomic factors shape individual behavior. In her current work, she has digitized novel archival data and uses it to study the effect of repressive collectivist policies during the Holodomor famine of 1932-33 on Ukraine’s economic development in the post-1991 period.

Miguel ortiz

2022 Research Award

Miguel Ortiz is a PhD candidate at Business & Public Policy group of the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley. Prior to Berkeley, he earned a BA in economics at Universidad de los Andes (Colombia). His research interests lie at the intersection of political economy, development economics and behavioral economics. His main research focus is on conflict, and has done fieldwork on conflicts in the D.R. of Congo, Ethiopia, Nigeria and Colombia. His current research explores fear and spite as different drivers of ethnic and religious conflict in Nigeria, and how cultural interventions can correct misperceptions and increase inter-group cooperation.

Current and Previous Fellows and Research Awardees


Miguel Ortiz - University of California, Berkeley

(research award) Miguel Fajardo Steinhäuser - London School of Economics


Vitaliia Yaremko - University of California, Berkeley

(research award) Miguel Ortiz - University of California, Berkeley


Lukas Leucht - University of California, Berkeley

Lydia Assuoad - Paris School of Economics

(research award) - Awa Ambra Seck, Harvard University


Brian Wheaton - Harvard University

(research award) - Lydia Assuoad - Paris School of Economics